Can friends see private groups on Facebook?

There are 2 privacy settings for Facebook groups: Public: anyone on or off Facebook can see who’s in the group and what they post. Private: only members can see who’s in the group and what they post.

Can Facebook friends see what private groups you join?

Quick Facts About Facebook Groups

When joining a group, whether private or public, your Facebook friends might see that you’ve joined it. Some groups are secret and can’t be searched for, in which case a qualifying group member has to invite you.

Will my friends be notified if I join a private group?

When you join a Close or Secret group, your friends who have already joined that group will be notified to approve your joining.

Is a private Facebook groups really private?

There are 2 privacy settings for Facebook groups: Public: anyone on or off Facebook can see who’s in the group and what they post. Private: only members can see who’s in the group and what they post.

What are private groups on Facebook?

A Secret Facebook group is a private group which is completely hidden from non members. Only members of the group can find it, and new members can only be added at the invite of current members, admins, or moderators. Nobody outside the group will be aware of its existence, and nobody can apply to join.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Does Instagram not allow links?

How do I hide the groups I’m in on Facebook?

Tap in the top right of Facebook, then scroll down to Groups and select your group.

  1. Tap More, then select View Group Info.
  2. Tap Edit Group Settings.
  3. Below Hide Group select Visible or Hidden.
  4. Tap Save.

Can members of a Facebook group See my profile?

Click the “Audience Selector,” which shows illustrated heads, and select who can see the information. … To limit your data so that only your Facebook friends can see it in groups, select “Friends.” “Public” allows everyone to see your information.

Why are some Facebook groups private?

Groups will now be labeled either “Public” or “Private.” That means that groups that were previously “Closed” or “Secret” will now share the designation of “Private,” meaning that only members of the group can see who’s in the group or what has been posted.

What is the difference between a closed group and a private group on Facebook?

Closed groups, which only let current members view group content and see who else is in the group, will now be labeled as private but visible groups. Secret groups, which are hidden from search, but still require an invitation to join, will be changed to a private and hidden group.