The only way to delete an account is to leave it deactivated for 30 days. Once the account is deleted, all tweets leave the Twitter servers permanently. Anyone can use the username for the account, and you can use the same email address to sign up for a new one.
What happens to your account when you delete Twitter?
Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step to deleting your account permanently. Deactivation lasts 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account is deleted and your username will no longer be associated with your account.
How long does Twitter keep your data after you delete your account?
When you delete your Twitter account:
Your account should be deactivated within a few minutes, but some content may be viewable for a few days. Data is only retained for 30 days from date of deactivation after which it is deleted.
Do tweets stay deleted?
Now, this is true for as many tweets you want to delete no matter how old or new the tweet is. In fact, tweets are only permanently deleted on Twitter and once deleted there’s no way to recover the deleted tweets.
How do you know if Twitter account is deleted?
If you don’t sign back in to your account within 30 days, then your Twitter account will disappear permanently from the Twitter platform, having been deleted.
Does Twitter delete old tweets?
Tweets more than a week old may fail to display in timelines or search because of indexing capacity restrictions. Old Tweets are never lost, but cannot always be displayed.
What happens when you deactivate your Twitter and then reactivate?
Once you’ve logged in and reactivated your account, your tweets, followers, and following list will all be restored as though you had never left. If it’s been longer than 30 days, your Twitter account information is no longer recoverable. You will have to start with a new account.
Can I delete my Twitter account and start again?
Can I delete my Twitter account and start again? You can start over on Twitter after you’ve deleted your account. But if you want to use the same username or email address, you should make the switch before you delete your existing account.
Is Tweet delete safe to use?
With Tweet Delete, you can set the app to automatically remove any tweets older than a certain age. This can be great for maintaining hygiene, but it requires you to let Tweet Delete have constant access to your Twitter account (and while Tweet Delete shows no indications of being malicious, this is a security risk).
Does Twitter save your tweets?
Twitter allows users to download an archive of their tweets, which creates an easy-to-browse local file that opens in a web browser and is organised month by month, including a search engine.