Does Facebook delete old posts?

Facebook makes it easy to delete your old posts with the Activity Log. … On desktop, you can scroll through all your past actions on Facebook, or choose a category under the Activity Types header to view your posts, tags, or interactions. Click the Timeline, Photo and Tag Review drop-down to filter specific tags.

How long are Facebook posts kept?

Length. A post left on a Facebook Wall remains there indefinitely, as long as the owner of the account keeps his account active. Over time, depending on how often people post on the wall, posts are pushed down toward the bottom of the page.

Does Facebook permanently delete posts?

When you delete something you shared on Facebook, it is permanently deleted from your Facebook account. It’s deleted from our servers and backup systems, so we’re unable to retrieve this deleted content.

What happens to old Facebook posts?

When you delete a post, it will remain in a trash bin for 30 days before disappearing, according to the Post. The tool is only rolling out on the Facebook mobile app for now, with functionality planned for the desktop eventually. You can also download all of your Facebook data in one file.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Do my comments disappear when I deactivate Facebook?

Why do FB posts disappear?

A glitch, or error, may occur when problems arise with the system programming. Problems with the hardware or software used by Facebook also may result in error messages and disappearing posts. … Sometimes logging out of Facebook and then logging in again can resolve the problem.

Do posts on Facebook expire?

Set an expiration date. Determine exactly when you want a post to stop showing up in News Feed. When your post expires, it won’t be visible on your Page or anywhere else it was shared on Facebook.

Why do old Facebook posts keep reappearing?

Sometimes a post that you’ve already seen will move to the top of News Feed because many of your friends have liked or commented on it. … If you feel you’re missing posts you’d like to see, or seeing posts in your News Feed that you don’t want to see, you can adjust your settings.

When you delete your Facebook does everything disappear?

When you delete your Facebook profile:

All your information is permanently deleted from Facebook after about one month. If you only deactivate your account, Facebook will not delete any information and you may reactivate.

How do you delete posts from years ago on Facebook?

Got to your profile, and tap on the three-dot menu. Go to Activity Log > Manage Activity and tap on the popup that says Your Posts. Once you see the list of your posts, you can select all posts you want to archive or delete, and hit that option accordingly.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Can you export Facebook posts?

What happens if I limit past posts on Facebook?

When you Limit Past Posts, you’ll change the audience of all your past posts to Friends. … Limit Past Posts only controls the audience for posts you’ve shared. If you’ve been tagged in someone else’s post, they control the audience for their posts.

Does Facebook permanently delete your data?

“When you delete your account, all the user generated content is normally erased (although there are small exceptions), while all the log data is preserved – forever.” The preserved log data won’t have your name attached to it.

What happens when you permanently delete Facebook?

What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added. You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.