Frequent question: What happens when I temporarily deactivate Facebook?

When you temporarily deactivate your account: People won’t be able to see or go to your Facebook profile. Your photos, posts and videos won’t be deleted. … You will continue to appear to friends on Facebook in places where they can message you.

What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won’t know that you’ve deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.

How long can you temporarily deactivate Facebook?

Facebook Waits 14 Days Before Deleting Account

The social network said there is no limit on how long a user can keep her account deactivated. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether.

What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account and then reactivate it?

When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. … You should only do this if you are absolutely sure you want to permanently delete your Facebook account.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Does Hamilton have Instagram?

Can I take a break from Facebook without deleting account?

If you don’t want to delete your Facebook account outright (too many memories, I know), then you can simply deactivate it temporarily. It’s called the “super-logoff” and it was a trick used by early privacy-conscious users each time they left the site.

What does a deactivated Facebook account look like?

What does a deactivated Facebook account look like? You won’t be able to check their profile because links revert to plain text. Posts they’ve made on your timeline will still exist but you will not be able to click on their name.

How do I temporarily disable Facebook?

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

  1. Go to your “Settings & Privacy” …
  2. Select “Settings”
  3. Under “Account” tap “Personal and Account Information” …
  4. Tap “Account Ownership and Control” at the bottom.
  5. Tap “Deactivation and deletion”

Is deactivating Facebook a good idea?

When you stop using a social networking profile or website, it is a good idea to deactivate or delete your account. This will mean that your content is no longer visible online and should not be searchable online. It will also remove the risk of these accounts being used by others or hacked without you knowing.

Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?

Facebook automatically saves all data for deactivated accounts so that you can easily reactivate the account if you change your mind and want to use the social network again. Facebook doesn’t remove old account information after any set time, so you can reactivate Facebook a year after closing the account.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I remove YouTube from my Google search?

Can you deactivate Facebook for more than 7 days?

If you need to take a Facebook timeout for sanity or to work on a project, you can deactivate your account for an indefinite period right in your Facebook preferences.

Can someone still see that I viewed their story if I deactivate Facebook?

When ever you deactivate your account your view will be removed from the story details of the creator. However before you disable the account the creator notices that you have seen it… then they will know that you have watched it. After you disabling the account your profile will be removed from the story viewers list.

Can someone message me on Facebook when I deactivate?

You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you.

Can I use Messenger if I deactivate Facebook?

If you’ve deactivated your account and you use Messenger, it doesn’t reactivate your Facebook account. Your friends will only be able to contact you via the Messenger app or the chat window in Facebook. … Download Facebook Messenger on iOS, Android, or Windows Phone.