When you restrict someone, their comments and messages will be hidden from your profile. It’s like keeping the restricted user behind a privacy window where they can see you, but they can’t exactly interact with you as normal and they don’t realize that this is the case.
What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram DM?
Once you restrict someone, their comments on your Instagram posts will only be visible to them (and not publicly). … A restricted user also can’t directly message you on Instagram DM. Their messages will be moved to the Message Requests section, and you won’t receive notifications from their account either.
How do you know if someone has your restricted DM on Instagram?
While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted. They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do. But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages.
Do messages disappear when you restrict someone on Instagram?
Can You See Old Messages. No. Blocking a person hides your personal chat threads from each other in DMs. Meaning, the thread will disappear, and you won’t be able to view the messages (until you unblock them).
Can restricted accounts see my story?
Restricting an account lets you limit interactions with the user without blocking or unfollowing them. This is more helpful to limit interactions on posts, since restricted users will still be able to see your Stories.
Can you stop someone from seeing your Instagram posts without blocking?
Unfortunately, there is no way you can prevent a certain person from seeing your Instagram post expect blocking them. But about stories, you can easily hide your stories from certain people either by hiding them or making a close friend list of people who are close to you.
When you restrict someone on Instagram can they see your posts?
They won’t be able to see your past or future posts even if you have a public profile. That is one of the ways to identify if you have been blocked. On the other hand, when you restrict someone, nothing changes in terms of feed and stories. The restricted person can still see your stories and published posts.
What happens when you mute someone on Instagram?
Muting someone on Instagram is like the social media equivalent of politely excusing yourself from a conversation, without making a scene. When you mute someone, their posts and stories will no longer show up in your feed, but they’ll still be able to see your posts, and you can visit each other’s account pages.
Does restricting someone remove them from your followers?
Restricting an account is basically one step above removing and one step below blocking. When you restrict an account, all of their comments and likes (as well as their direct messages) are hidden. They can still interact with your profile, but you will no longer see those interactions.
What does it look like when blocked on Instagram?
If the account is private and you can’t find it, you’ve likely been blocked. If the account is public, and when visiting their page you can’t see their profile image, post count, follower count, or following count, and the photo grid area reads “No Posts Yet,” you have definitely been blocked.
How do you stop someone from messaging you on Instagram without blocking them?
There are two ways to restrict people on Instagram. Here’s the first method: Go to your Direct Message conversation with that person. Tap the “i” icon in the upper-right corner.
- Go to the person’s profile.
- Tap ‘Following. ‘
- Tap ‘Restrict. ‘
- Tap ‘Restrict Account. ‘